List of African Languages on Google Translate

afrian languages on Google Translate
- Advertisement -

Google translate is a free service that instantly translates words, phrases, and web pages between English and other languages. As of now, Google can translate over 100 languages around the world 13 of which are African-based languages. Here is a list of African languages on Google Translate; Igbo, Swahili, Africans, Hausa, Sesotho, Somali, Xhosa, Yoruba, Zulu, Malagasy, Shona, Amharic, Chichewa.

- Advertisement -

READ ALSO: How To Use Google Assistant To Read A Web Page Out Aloud


Igbo is the native language of the Igbo people an ethnic group from Eastern Nigeria. It is one of the major languages in Nigeria with over 27 million speakers.


The Swahili language natively known as Kiswahili is a national language in Kenya. It originated from the Swahili people of the Bantu group. Swahili is also a widely spoken language in East African countries.


The Afrikaans language originated from West Germanic. It is defined as a creole language which means that it is composed of different languages. Africans are mostly spoken in South Africa, Namibia, and, to a lesser extent, Botswana, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.


Hausa is a Chadic language spoken by the Hausa people, mainly within the northern half of Nigeria and the southern half of Niger, and with significant minorities in Chad, Ghana, and Cameroon.


The Sotho or Sesotho is a Southern Bantu language of the Sotho-Tswana group, spoken primarily by the Basotho in Lesotho, where it is the national and official language; South Africa, where it is one of the 11 official languages; and in Zimbabwe where it is one of 16 official languages.


Yoruba is a language spoken by the Yoruba people in West Africa. The language is most prominent in the Southwestern part of Nigeria. The number of Yoruba speakers is stated as roughly 50 million, plus about 2 million second-language speakers.


The Zulu language is the native language of the Zulu people and Kwazulu-natal people of northern-natal in South Africa. The Language is estimated to have over 12 million speakers.


Somali is an Afroasiatic language belonging to the Cushitic branch. It is spoken as a mother tongue by Somalis in Greater Somalia and the Somali diaspora.


Xhosa also isiXhosa as an endonym is a Nguni Bantu language and one of the official languages of South Africa and Zimbabwe.


The national language of Madagascar is Malagasy. Malagasy is the westernmost Malayo-Polynesian language, brought to Madagascar by the settlement of Austronesian peoples from the Sunda islands around the 5th century AD.


Shona is a Bantu language of the Shona people of Zimbabwe. It is one of the most widely spoken Bantu languages. According to Ethnologue, Shona, comprising the Karanga, Zezuru, and Korekore dialects, is spoken by about 10.8 million people.


Amharic is an Ethiopian Semitic language, spoken as the first language by the Amharas. The language subgroups within the Semitic branch of the Afroasiatic languages.


The Chichewa or Chinyanja language of the Bantu family is widely spoken in Malawi where, from 1968 until the mid-1990s, it was the national language. Chichewa is also used widely in Zambia.

African languages on Google Translate