Here’s How to Cancel Your Netflix Subscription

Here's How to Cancel Your Netflix Subscription - UgTechMag.Com
Credit: Google
- Advertisement -

In the first quarter of 2022, Netflix reported that it had lost 200,000 subscribers. As the number of canceled subscriptions hinges on, you can also decide to make the decision to cancel your Netflix subscription for one reason or another. Maybe the content on Netflix is not hitting the mark with you or Netflix no longer fits in your budget. No matter the reason, canceling a Netflix subscription is easy and this article will detail a step-by-step guide.

- Advertisement -

You can cancel your Netflix subscription at any time, but the process depends on how you originally subscribed. If you signed up directly through the Netflix website, you can also cancel using the website. But if you signed up through your Apple ID or Google account, you’ll need to cancel using your phone.

How to Cancel Your Netflix Subscription via Mobile App

Step 1: Open the Netflix App on your device and sign in to your account.

Step 2: Select profile.

Step 3: On the home page, click on the More option and select Account.

Step 4: The Account page will load. Under Membership and Billing, click on “Cancel Membership.”

Step 5: On the next page, Netflix will require you to confirm cancelation. Click on “Finish Cancellation” to proceed with canceling your Netflix subscription.

Step 6: A cancellation notice will be sent to the email address attached to your account and the same will be displayed on your screen affirming that your subscription has been canceled. Also, on the same page, Netflix will require you to select a reason for cancellation in order to improve services when you return back. Select all reasons that refer to your subscription cancellation then click Done. After that, you will be referred to the account page. Under Membership and Billing, the feature which earlier displayed as “Cancel Membership” will now be “Restart Membership.”

How to Cancel Your Netflix Subscription on your Computer

Step 1: Go to Netflix.com and sign in to your account.

Step 2: Click on your Netflix profile. Once the profile is launched, tap on the dropdown arrow next to the profile icon/picture.

Step 3: From the displayed menu, select Account.

Step 4: The Account page will load. Under Membership and Billing, click on “Cancel Membership.”

Step 5: On the next page, Netflix will require you to confirm cancelation. Click on “Finish Cancellation” to proceed with canceling your Netflix subscription.

Step 6: A cancellation notice will be sent to the email address attached to your account and the same will be displayed on your screen affirming that your subscription has been canceled. Also, on the same page, Netflix will require you to select a reason for cancellation in order to improve services when you return back. Select all reasons that refer to your subscription cancellation then click Done. After that, you will be referred to the account page. Under Membership and Billing, the feature which earlier displayed as “Cancel Membership” will now be “Restart Membership.”

How to Cancel Your Netflix Subscription on your Computer - UgTechMag.Com

Quick Note:

Cancellation will be effective at the end of your current billing period.

Come back anytime. If you restart within 10 months, your profiles, favorites, viewing preferences, and account details will be waiting for you. Netflix will automatically delete Netflix accounts 10 months after the membership has been canceled.

How to Restart Netflix Account

Netflix gives subscribers the choice to cancel and restart their membership anytime they wish so. When you make up your mind and reconsider re-activating your Netflix account, follow the steps below to enable the continuation of your membership.

Step 1: Go to Netflix.com and sign in to your account.

Step 2: Click on your Netflix profile. Once the profile is launched, tap on the dropdown arrow next to the profile icon/picture.

Step 3: From the displayed menu, select Account.

Step 4: The Account page will load. Under Membership and Billing, click on “Restart Membership.”

How to Permanently Delete Netflix Account

Netflix retains limited information following account deletion for lawful reasons, including for fraud prevention, accounting purposes, and enforcing their Terms of Use. However, even when the streaming platform would not want to see you off, they will eventually lay your account off but that takes up to 10 months.

The first thing you need to do is cancel your membership. As a standard practice, Netflix will automatically delete Netflix accounts 10 months after the membership has been canceled.

To request the earlier deletion of your canceled Netflix account, please contact [email protected] from the email address associated with the account. (Note: including the email address in the body of a request sent from a different email address (including an email alias) does not suffice for these purposes.)